Your new design will be uploaded in:
...
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.
X

Term ends on Thursday 1st April. All children should come to school on the 1st, the holidays begin on the 2nd April.

 Reading at North Borough Junior School

 

World Book Day 2021 

We are so proud of the work children have produced at home for World Book Day this year!

Have a look below at some of the work from the children. 

 This year we used 'Wisp - A Story of Hope' and some of the £1 books on offer this year to base tasks on. 

 

 

We are incredibly proud to announce we have been awarded a Kent Literacy Award for our new Reading Garden! We will be attending a virtual awards ceremony later in the year but have had our certificate delivered to us!  

 

We are so excited to open our brand new Reading Garden for the start of the academic year! This has been built to extend the library outside and create a calm and relaxing space for the children to enjoy a good book. Your child will visit the library once a week to change their book if needed or spend the time reading in the garden.

 

 

 

 

 Reading Recommendations

To encourage children to broaden their reading experiences, the staff and North Borough will be recommending books to the children each week. We will also make sure the books we choose are available to read in school. Our 'Branching Out' campaign is designed to encourage children to try new books from authors they aren't familiar with, explore many cultures and improve their vocabulary. Please have a look at the Branching Out posters below from Books for Topics for some inspiration. 

 

Click on the book cover to watch the video. 

 Year 3 and 4

 Year 5 and 6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Find Out What the Staff are Reading!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The pupils at North Borough have designed their own reading incentive programme. They even came up with the name! We encourage pupils to read as much as possible at home and reward them for doing so. Pupils earn certificates and win stationery, books, in school treats and a star prize! The previous star prize was a free pass to Gravity Trampoline Park! 

Other places to search for a good read:

 

You can read or listen to The Girl Who Stole an Elephant completely FREE, watch an exclusive video about Nizrana's new book, The Boy Who Met a Whale, discover her top three children's books and read an interview all about reading. Click on the book cover to take you to the site. 

 

You can read Jacqueline Wilson's most popular book, The Story of Tracy Beaker, for FREE, find out more about Jacqueline's inspiration for writing in an exclusive video and download fun activities to try at home, including a mask, a wordsearch and a brilliant quiz. Click on the book cover to take you to the site. 

 

Oak National Academy and the National Literacy Trust have come together to launch our Virtual School Library to keep children reading during lockdown. Every week, a popular children's author will become our ‘Author of the Week’ and provide a free book or audiobook and exclusive videos and activities aimed at primary school children, all available at library.thenational.academy.

For as long as schools are closed to most pupils, Audible is open. Right now, children everywhere can instantly stream an incredible collection of of stories, including titles across eight different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids.

All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.

Explore the collection, select a title and start listening. 

 

 

 

This is a YouTube channel by Puffin Books. There are lots of great authors reading their books including Tom Flecher and Jacqueline Wilson.  

 

 

Piers Torday is reading his story The Dark Wild. He will read a chapter each day. You can listen along by clicking on the book cover above. All animal voices are included free of charge! 

This book is part of a trilogy. The story is a thrilling animal adventre for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Kathrine Rundell. This book was the winner of The Guardian Chrildren's Fiction Prize in 2014! 

 

Mike Forde has published this excellent book titled
How to NOT go to school, which navigates
issues that children might be experiencing
like missing friends and feeling cooped up
during the coronavirus pandemic.

You're never too old for a bedtime story! Click on the image above to go to BBC iPlayer to watch some wonderful stories being read to you be celebrities. These include David Walliams, Joe Wicks, Tom Hardy and Jessica Ennis-Hill.

 

 

You can use your existing library card or sign up for a new temporary account to use the Kent County Council E-Library for free! There are thousands of free books which can be borrowed online. You can download the Libby App to read books on your phone or tablet, or you can use the Libby website on your computer. We cannot recommend this highly enough!

The charity Save the Children has created Save with Stories. Celebrities have selected stories to read to help raise money for the charity. You don’t need to donate any money to watch the videos. Some of the stories have been read by Liam Payne, Rita Ora, Meghan Duchess of Sussex, Dynamo and Paul O’Grady!